Battle of the bands

Hannah Allan of Don't Fret from Braidhurst High enjoys being in front of the crowd.
Hannah Allan of Don't Fret from Braidhurst High enjoys being in front of the crowd.

Motherwell Concert Hall was brought to life as young musicians competed for the crown at Rockfest: North Lanarkshire Council 
Schools’ Battle of the 
Bands 2014.

A dozen bands from schools across the local authority took to the stage in the hope of impressing the judging panel and winning the £500 top prize.

Among those taking part were bands from Our Lady’s High and Braidhurst High in Motherwell, Brannock High in Newarthill, Cardinal Newman High in Bellshill and St Aidan’s High in Wishaw.

St Aidan’s were looking to defend the crown they won last year when their band Easy Company boasted a certain Nicholas McDonald among it’s members.

This year they were represented by In Transit made up of Nathan Boslem (vocals), Kieran Greig (guitar), Paul McGregor (guitar), Christopher Airth (bass) and Aidan McPhelim (drums) who performed Wake Me Up by Avicci and their own composition A World Without Gold.

Our Lady’s arrived with the biggest group in the competition Little White Truth which included nine members.

Mark Costello (vocals), James Bennett (guitar), Chris Bradshaw (drums), Konner Millar Brookbanks (bass), Jordan Mooney (guitar), Jill McMurray (trumpet), David Martin (trumpet), Katy Devlin (saxaphone) and Stephen Ness (euphonium) performed Runaway Baby by Bruno Mars and their own composition Noah.

By contrast Stuck in a Sling from Brannock were the smallest group in the competition as Bobby Crossan (guitar/vocals), David McNally (bass/vocals) and Lewis Wilson (drums) performed Know Your Enemy by Green Day and their own composition Domino.

Don’t Fret from Braidhurst made up of Fraser McCormick (drums), Jack Clarke (bass), Ben Oliphant (guitar) and Hannah Allan (keyboard/vocals) performed Jenny Was a Friend of Mine by The Killers and their own composition Watch.

Cardinal Newman’s Tornado Jones featuring Liam Glancy (vocals), Gerard McCusker (drums), Joseph Burns (guitar), Connor McAuley (guitar) and Conor Boyle (bass/vocals) performed Sweet Disposition by Temper Trap and own composition Something Good.

The judging panel, made up of the council’s executive director of learning and leisure Andrew Sutherland, former The Delgados singer Emma Pollock, Reeltime Music director Ryan Currie and former Sons and Daughters guitarist Scott Paterson, then had the difficult decision of choosing a top three.

As they deliberated the audience were entertained by the NLC Collective made up of Jack Henry (guitar), Carlos Hernandez (bass/vocals), Scott Parker (guitar/vocals), Caitlin Millar (vocals), Sophie Douglas (vocals), Conor Gaffney (vocals), Kristopher Penn (drums) and 
Liam McKinstray 

They performed Domino by Jessie J, The Pretender by Foo Fighters, Bring Me To Life by Evanescence and Hey Brother by Avicii.

Afterwards Falconhoof from Abronhill High were named the winners, with In Transit from St Aidan’s in second and Stuck In A Sling from Brannock in third.

The best individual performer was drummer Ryan Bradley from Postero Magnum of Chryston High.