Thrilling finish to Tom Scott race

The race gets underway
The race gets underway

THERE was a nailbiting sprint finish to the main 10-mile contest at last Sunday’s Tom Scott Road Races at Strathclyde Park in Motherwell.

A frantic dash to the line saw Inverclyde AC’s Craig Ruddy (finishing time 49mins 23secs) take the Tom Scott trophy and £120 after defeating Eritrean ace Tewelde Mengisteab (Shettleston Harriers) by just three seconds.

Third place went to Corstorphine AC runner Michael Crawley in 49mins 37secs, with defending champion Robert Gilroy of Cambuslang Harriers fourth in a personal best of 51mins 7secs.

“The races this year were excellent and the fine weather made the full day,” said event organiser Robert Benyon

“It was a great event from start to finish and we had a very exciting finish to the main 10-mile race. All of the first three completed the course in under 50 minutes – which was really good running – and the sprint finish was great viewing for the spectators.

“It was only in the last three miles that Curry and Mengisteab broke away from the rest and after that they were running toe to toe.”

This year saw the race return to Strathclyde Park after 2014’s switch to Carluke as the usual venue was unavailable due to the Commonwealth Games.

And Robert said that fourth-placed Gilroy had joked afterwards that he wished the race had been back at Carluke!

The organiser added that Mengisteab, who took home £80 for being runner-up, said that he’d need to improve his sprint finishing next year.

The ladies 10-mile race was won by Fife AC’s Megan Crawford – who finished 30th overall – in 56mins 48secs. Second place went to Kilbarchan AC’s Gemma Rankin in 58mins 7secs, with Lyndsay Morrison of Central AC third in 60mins 33secs. Their respective cash prizes were £80, £60 and £50.

David Millar of Irvine AC successfully defended the male veteran title to take the Turnbull Rosebowl in 52mins 49secs.

Also attracting record entry numbers was the 6k Round the Loch contest, which saw the unattached Jozsev Farkas win the men’s contest, £40 and the Robin Barbour Trophy in 19mins 13secs.

Lyndsay Clarke (unattached) won the ladies race in 21mins 53secs.

Law and District AAC members won both the men’s and ladies team contests. Their respective runners were Luke Foss, Patryk Symanski and Stuart Leghorn and Hilary McGrath, Emily McNicol and Linzi McLaren.