Longhorns hand out annual player awards

Andrew Steen picked up two awards
Andrew Steen picked up two awards

YOUNG American football talent has been celebrated as Lanarkshire Longhorns held their annual players’ awards.

The Longhorns had a somewhat disappointing season after teams withdrew from the BANAFL Junior North Division, reducing the number of games they got to play.

Their frustration was doubled when they narrowly missed out on their first ever play-off spot, losing out on points difference to Gateshead Senators.

Finishing joint second in the league did not however come without some fantastic individual performances and a growing sense of team identity, both of which were celebrated as the club recognised some of this season’s key contributors.

Head coach Graeme Clee presented this year’s awards in six categories, highlighting the individual contributions of each player in terms of game statistics, team presence and influence, work ethic and desire to succeed.

Each of this year’s winners displayed excellence in all these areas and richly deserved the acknowledgements of their coaches and team-mates.

The winners were —

Coaches’ Award - defensive back and special teams captain David McInally; Offensive MVP, Players’ Player - running back Andrew Steen; Defensive (joint) MVP - linebacker Steven Munro and linebacker and defence captain Mike Orr; Lineman MVP - offense line captain Anthony Dougan; Team MVP - offence captain William McLaughlin.

Special presentations were also made to club chairman and line coach Colin MacMillan and team manager and secretary Lynne Samuel.

Anyone interested in becoming involved with youth American football in the Lanarkshire area can visit www.lanarkshirelonghorns.com or find the Lanarkshire Longhorns on Facebook.