Party time as Thorniewood lift League Cup

editorial image

Thorniewood ended a 50-year wait when they lifted the Euroscot Engineering Central League Cup at Newlandsfield last Thursday night.

In a dramatic final against Blantyre Vics the Viewpark side did it the hard way, ending up with eight men and twice coming from a goal down to win on penalties.

Thorniewood, looking for their first trophy win in half century to easy the pain of relegation from the Super League, threatened early when midfielder Stefan Law had an effort saved on the line by Vics ’keeper Kevin Madden.

But Blantyre went ahead in the 10th minute when Andy Sinclair found the far corner with a well struck, dipping effort past young Matthew Creechan in the United goal.

Worse was to follow for ’Wood’ in the 26th minute when they were reduced to 10 men as Creechan rushed outside his area to bring down David Galt.

United boss Andy Frame was forced to bring off O’Hara and replace him with back-up ’keeper Chris Fitzpatrick.

Remarkably Thorniewood hit back to draw level in the 32nd minute, CHRIS LENNON blasting home from the spot after being fouled by Bryan McLaughlin.

However Vics regained the lead in the 41st minute, breaking from a Thorniewood attack for Malcolm to play in GALT to calmly sidefoot home.

But United showed after the break they were still a threat and were rewarded minutes in the 58th minute when LENNON again fired home from the spot after being upended in the box, this time by Terry Hewitt.

Thorniewood’s joy was short lived however as captain Charles Grant was then shown a straight red after a crunching challenge on Vics substitute Graeme Watson.

But Vics were unable to make the two-man advantage count and Thorniewood managed to take the game to penalties.

Lennon, Kieran McIntyre, Dominic Green and Law - playing his last game for Thorniewood before joining Airdrie - were all successful with their kicks, Green being shown a red card after netting for a gesture to fans.

And then Fitzpatrick crucially saved Blantyre’s fifth kick from Hewitt to clinch victory and send Thorniewood fans into dreamland.

Thorniewood: Creechan, Forbes, McIntyre, Smith, Fleming, McSorley (Green 83), Lennon, Law, Mullen (Getty 63), Grant O’Hara (Fitzpatrick 26). Subs not used: Hamilton, Duggan.