Former Netflix users are being warned their old accounts may have been reactivated without permission, which could see them unwittingly charged a subscription fee.
Customers who previously had a subscription to the streaming service are being urged to check their bank account to check for charges.
Netflix holds on to user data for 10 months after a subscription is cancelled, including billing details, unless customers request for it to be deleted by email. The streaming service says this is done to make it easier for customers to rejoin should they change their mind later on.
However, this means if fraudsters get hold of your login details, they can access dormant accounts and reactivate them without knowing users’ bank details, according to BBC Radio 4’s You & Yours.
Former Netflix customer Emily Keen told the BBC that she cancelled her subscription in April this year, but was later charged £11.99 by Netflix in September.
She said, “I tried to login to my account, but it said my email and password had not been recognised.
“It turns out the criminals had changed my login details completely and had signed me up for the most expensive service.”
Despite being assured by Netflix that her account would be blocked, Ms Keen was still charged a fee in October and November, and was only refunded in part.
Fellow ex-Netflix users also took to social media to complain about experiencing the same issue.
One user wrote on Twitter last month, “Super disappointed with my @netflix customer service experience.
“Our account was hacked, supposed to have been deactivated, was reactivated by hacker, and continued to use our credit card.
“We were told to file chargeback and @netflix would not offer refund.”
Another customer had a similar experience, writing, “Cancelled my @netflix subscription in July. Looked at my bank account yesterday, service reactivated.
“Missed an email Monday about suspicious activity. Netflix allowed the activation anyway.”
Advice for customers
Netflix says that the safety of its customers’ accounts is a top priority and advised users who notice any unusual activity on their account to contact them immediately.
A spokesperson for the streaming service told The Sun, “We use a variety of measures to protect our members, notifying users to change their password when suspicious activity is detected, and when there is a sign-in to their account on a new device.”
Customers can contact Netflix by calling 0800 096 6379, or use the live chat function on its website.