Your candidates

North and South Lanarkshire councils have released the names of the candidates for the local authority election on Thursday, May 3.

The Times & Speaker presents a list of all the candidates in the eight wards of our circulation area.

Thorniewood — Bob Burrows and Jim McCabe (both Labour), Alan Henderson (Conservative), Duncan McShannon (SNP).

Bellshill — Harry Curran and Harry McGuigan (both Labour), John Devlin (Independent), Owen Gallagher and Marina Lyle (both SNP), Robert Hargrave (Conservative).

Mossend and Holytown — Paul Delaney and David Baird (both SNP), James Coyle and Frank McNally (both Labour), Kevin McKeown (Independent), Rosemary Pawson (Conservative). Motherwell West — Robert Burgess (Conservative), Paul Kelly and Michael Ross (both Labour), Kenny Martin (Scottish Anti-Cuts Coalition), Annette Valentine (SNP).

Motherwell North — Farooq Shahid and Gordon Stewart (both SNP), Fraser MacGregor (Liberal Democrats), Annita McAuley, Helen McKenna and Peter Nolan (all Labour), Neil Richardson (Conservative).

Motherwell South East and Ravenscraig — Kaye Harmon, Tom Lunny and Gary O’Rorke (all Labour), Ian Kelly and Hugh McLaughlin (both Independent), Linsey McKay (Consevative), Brian Ross (Scottish Christian Party), Jamie Super and Alan Valentine (both SNP).

Murdostoun — Alan Clinch and Nicky Shevlin (both Labour), Lyall Duff and John Taggart (both SNP), Cindy Mackenzie (Conservative), Robert McKendrick (Independent).

Wishaw — Marjory Borthwick (Conservative), Marion Fellows and Jim Hume (both SNP), Sam Love, Frank McKay and James Robertson (all Labour).

Bothwell and Uddingston — Maureen Devlin and Patrick Morgan (both Labour), Anne Kegg (Conservative), Jim McGuigan (SNP).