Hospital patients get snack time

NHS Lanarkshire has made further improvements to the provision of patient catering after being criticised in a recent report.

Inpatients at Wishaw, Monklands and Hairmyres hospitals are now offered an evening snack of tea and toast so that they can have something to eat between dinner and breakfast.

Earlier this year the Older People’s Inspection hit out at the health authority for leaving patients, particularly the elderly to go hungry.

Joan James, divisional nurse director for the acute division, said: “We are committed to providing high-quality, food, fluid and nutritional care to all our patients.

“As part of the Older People’s Inspection it was identified that there was a long gap between dinner and breakfast. We were determined to address this and prioritised the introduction of an evening snack.

“We have been speaking to patients to find out what they would like and the introduction of tea and toast reflects this feedback.”

The evening tea and toast was piloted in a number of wards and has now been rolled out across all three hospitals at a cost of £136,000 per year.

Meanwhile, seven members of NHS Lanarkshire staff have been named as finalists at the Scottish Health Awards 2012.

The finalists are - Therapist Award: Mari Ward, Occupational Therapy Practitioner, Coathill Hospital; Integrated Care for Older People Award: Dr Graham Ellis, Consultant Geriatrician and the ASSET Team, Coathill Hospital; Quality Champion of the Year Award: Catherine Cherrie, Senior Charge Nurse, Orthopaedic Outpatients, Monklands Hospital; Leading for Quality Award: Catherine Cherrie, Senior Charge Nurse Orthopaedic Outpatients, Monklands Hospital, and Duncan Strang and Graham Leese; National Diabetes Food Coordinator/Consultant Diabetologist, Hairmyres Hospital; and Care for Long-Term Illness Award: Karen Carson, Lung Clinical Nurse Specialist, Wishaw General Hospital.

NHS Lanarkshire’s interim chairwoman Neena Mahal said: “I would like to congratulate all the finalists nominated in the six categories.

“They will no doubt be tremendously honoured that their commitment and dedication as health professionals has been recognised in this way.”

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Edinburgh tomorrow (Thursday).