Election candidates announced

A SIX way fight is in progress to become the new Motherwell and Wishaw MSP at next month’s Scottish Parliament elections, but only four candidates are standing in the new Uddingston and Bellshill seat.

In 2007 John Pentland and Clare Adamson were both elected within the Wishaw ward at North Lanarkshire Council, but this time round there is only room for one of them as they represent Labour and the SNP respectively.

There will be no love lost between coalition partners as long time local party chairman Bob Burgess represents the Conservatives, while Edinburgh woman Beverley Hope stands for the Liberal Democrats.

Aiming to rain on the parade of the main parties are John Swinburne, who hopes for a return to Parliament with the All Scotland Pensioners Party, while former Wishaw councillor Tom Selfridge is the candidate for the Christian Party ‘Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship’.

Although Uddingston and Bellshill is a new seat it owes much of its geography to the former Bellshill and Hamilton North constituency and its final MSP Michael McMahon is hoping for re-election on behalf of the Labour party.

Providing fierce local opposition will be long time SNP Bellshill councillor Richard Lyle and completing the line up is financial expert Mark Brown for the Conservative’s and Fraser Macgregor of the Liberal Democrats.